Bad reception

3 06 2005

One of the few remaining sanctuaries from mobile phones is being desecrated. London Underground are finally going ahead with the installation of transmitters in the deep line stations enabling hundreds of thousands of commuters to shout ‘I’m on the train’ in tiny little tube carriages and denying them the excuse that ‘I’m about to go into a tunnel’.

It’s fair to say that I like my modern technology but mobile phones are bad enough on normal surface trains where the background noise is high enough for callers to respond by shouting into their crazy-frogged lump of plastic. What’s it going to be like during the morning peak on the Northern Line with the echoes of tunnels 100 metres underground? Angrier stares, violence, carnage, death: that’s what.

About five years ago a survey by the then London Transport showed overwhelming opposition to such a plan. Excuse my cynicism when last year’s straw polls by the cash-strapped Transport for London showed the opposite. Who were these people? I doubt they were regular tube users….

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/articles/18977544?source=Evening%20Standard


Actions

Information

Leave a comment